In order, to become a battle ready warrior, you must first come to believe in your Commander — God All Mighty. If you have made that commitment already, praise God! You are on the winning side, serving the most holy, most powerful, most creative, most loving, most intelligent, and all sovereign God of the Universe. It’s not a bad place to be!

Before we look at what a Warrior for Christ is, let’s talk about what he or she isn’t. A Warrior for Christ is not:

Perfect
Prideful
Angry
Bullying
Tough by his or her own power
Controlling
Manipulative
Self Seeking
Dishonest
Rebellious
Perverse

Now, that doesn’t mean that a warrior never sins. After all, Gods’ word clearly states we have all sinned and fallen short of the glory of God. But warriors are aware that they have made and will make mistakes in the future. However, they will seek God and His forgiveness on a regular basis – hopefully daily. A warrior is continually pursuing righteousness and spiritual growth in God. Being a warrior for Christ isn’t just about fighting the enemy, Satan, but more importantly it is standing for the truth and pursuing the fruit of the Holy Spirit: Love, Joy, Peace, Patience, Kindness, Goodness, and Self Control. (Gal. 5: 22-23)

Again, warriors are not perfect. People who love the Lord can and do fall in battle. An injured soldier will not run and hide in an attempt to heal his or her own wounds, but will reach out to those around him and up to heaven for assistance. God can wash even the most battle-scarred warrior with His blood, renewing and preparing His precious son or daughter to get up and re-enter the battle. Once we are saved, sin does not kick a warrior out of God’s ranks, but if it is continuous and not repented of our Commander Jesus may discipline this warrior for a time. Amazingly, later Jesus can and often does promote, even a fallen soldier to a front line position. With Jesus as our commander all things are possible.

How does the New American Concordance describe a warrior?

WARRIOR a noun

Synonyms: Soldier, fighter, fighting man (or woman), GI, man-at-arms, serviceman, swad, a man, or woman engaged or experienced in warfare; broadly: a person engaged in some struggle or conflict. (I have added woman to this text)

As a warrior for Christ we have certain battle strategies and are encouraged in 1 Timothy 6:12 to Fight the good fight of faith. There are a number of elements that we are at war with:

The Devil (Gen. 3:15, 2 Cor. 2:11, Eph. 6:12, James 4:7, 1 Pet. 5:8, Rev. 12:17)
The Flesh (Rom. 7:23, 1 Cor. 9: 25-27, 2 Cor. 12:7, Gal. 5:17, 1 Pet. 2:11)
Enemies (Psalms 38:19, 56:2, 59:3)
The World (John 16:33, 1 John 2:14, 15)
Death (1Cor. 15:26, Heb. 2:14, 15)

Please, take the time to look up the above verses in order to more fully understand the nature and extent of our battle. Once again, the incredible news is that we are under the command of the only true God, our Creator, and our Savior.

God has provided for us an incredible arsenal of weapons found in the Book of Ephesians verse 6 – THE ARMOR OF GOD

As a warrior for God it is up to us to put on the supernatural armor He has so generously provided for us. Although, not seen by our physical eyes, this armor is easily seen in the spiritual world. I challenge you and encourage you to commit to fighting the good fight and putting on your armor daily. Putting on the armor in prayer works amazingly well. Please feel free to use the following prayer to aid you in visualizing your daily commitment::

Dear Heavenly Father, I commit this day to you. I submit my will to yours and recognize that you are my Commander and Chief. As your warrior, I want to serve you with all my body, mind, and spirit. I put on the entire armor now. First I place the Belt of truth around my waist, your truth that sets me free. Then I secure the Breastplate of righteousness across my chest, covering my heart. I place my feet in Shoes shod with the gospel of peace, may I bring peace to many a situation today. I now take up the Shield of faith, may this shield protect me from the fiery darts of my enemy. I cover my head securely with the Helmet of Salvation. May my thoughts be on you, Lord, and may I think good, pure, and godly thoughts throughout my day. Finally, I pick up the Sword of the spirit, which is your powerful Word, God. I use this sword to pierce through the enemy’s plans. For your Word tells us that all we must do is submit ourselves to you and tell the enemy to flee and he most go. So go Satan, in the name of Jesus! Thank you in advance Lord for a day of victory! In Jesus’ name Amen.

What an awesome thought — the mighty warriors of God, us, rising to meet each day and together putting on the Armor of God as one. I pray that each of you reading this will find encouragement and hope knowing that we, as Christians, belong to an army destined for victory. Together we can accomplish much for the glory of God and His Kingdom. Let us march forward, covered in God’s grace and truth, and fight the good fight! AMEN

God bless and protect fellow warriors!

